Excerpt from The Shoulders On Which I Stand

Posted on Updated on

“The hell it isn’t. I feel as if you all are trying to accuse me of inciting a riot. I am not going to stand here and be accused without proper representation.”
Mr. Bruce dialed the receptionist and told her to get Mr. Bingham to come to his office. Daria was looking at the three of them shaking her head. As long as I say let’s have black t-shirts for Black History Month they are okay with me. However, when I start really teaching the students I get pulled out of my class. My grandmother always taught me, “Don’t trust a white person as far as you can throw them.”
Mr. Bingham walked in and saw no smile on anyone’s face.
“Mr. Bruce, you called for me?”
“Yes, Ms. Van requested representation. We told her that it wasn’t necessary but she insisted.”
“Okay, that’s what I’m here for. How may I help you Ms. Van.”
“I’ve been teaching my students US History while incorporating African-Americans within the lesson. These three are telling me that I have to reserve teaching anything about African-Americans until February.”
“The lessons that you’re teaching, do they align with the standards?”
“Yes, they do. I would not do anything to jeopardize the students’ success in school as well as my future as an educator. Also, instead of Mr. Bruce sticking his head in my classroom and ordering me to his classroom, he could have called me or came to me with an air of professionalism and requested me to come to his office. He just cut the respect I had from my students down to nothing.”
“Is this what happened Mr. Bruce?”
“Is this what happened? Are you serious? I thought you were here to represent me.”
“You white folk really stick together. I didn’t do anything wrong and I’m following the curriculum and standards. If you have any additional problems with me, please do not use my lessons, just state what the issues are,” Daria said becoming more and more frustrated as she sat in the office.

Shoulders Book Cover

Purchase the book.

Leave a Reply

