I Saw This Picture Today

Posted on Updated on

I saw this picture today and although the conversation attached to it was one I wasn’t interested in engaging, I did see a story from it. I am from the African Diaspora. Seeing this iceberg of Africa made me reflect on many conversations I’ve had and many posts I’ve read.

I was taught that there is only one perfect place, jennatil-firdaus (the highest heaven). Therefore, although people may want to think there is a heaven on earth, it’s non-existent. It was interesting when someone told me that I am in a cage because I do not feel the need to migrate from the US because our ancestors were brought here and we should not die on the land where our ancestors were raped, tortured, and murdered.

This statement bothered me because the person who made a snap judgment about me doesn’t know me and this was the first time having any communication, heck, this was the first time I ever saw the person’s name. Why is this important you may ask? The importance of this is that many people, whether they’re young, middle aged, or young make snap judgments about people. This is defined as prejudice.

Sometimes as a writer writes, it may be necessary to define specific terminology used so the audience is aware of the context of the word. According to dictionary.com, the following are definitions of prejudice.

noun

1. an unfavorable opinion or feeling formed beforehand or without knowledge, thought, or reason.
2. any preconceived opinion or feeling, either favorable or unfavorable.
3. unreasonable feelings, opinions, or attitudes, especially of a hostile nature, regarding an ethnic, racial, social, or religious group.
4. such attitudes considered collectively:
5. damage or injury; detriment:

It was with prejudice that this person assumed that I lived in a cage and didn’t know my history or embraced everything that occurred in the US. Which brings me back to the photo below. When I saw this photo I saw that on sea or on the surface, one sees the tip of the African Iceberg. This tip is not even one percent of what Africa is. This is equivalent to the two posts we had was just the tip of what I am about.
African Iceberg
The moral of this story is to be careful of prejudice. Don’t think that people can only be prejudice to another race, ethnicity, religion, etc. Prejudice is intra-racial, intra-religions, etc. Most people have strong opinions on a lot of things. However, sometimes it is a good thing to view multiple perspectives before assuming anything.
I am able to point this short coming out because I used to be one of those black-and-white thinkers. If I didn’t say it, it wasn’t right. Age and maturation helped me to view multiple perspectives before taking a solid stance on anything.
Thank you for reading.

 

2 thoughts on “I Saw This Picture Today

    Hina said:
    June 25, 2015 at 2:00 am

    Love your thought process!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

