Making Moves

Posted on

This past week I’ve been reflecting on my life. I know what I like to do and I know what I love to do. While on Spring Break I had a lot of work to get caught up on so I can be on point when school starts back on Monday.

While I love sharing my knowledge with others and learning from them, I’m not too crazy about grading, completing lesson plans and all of the other hullabaloo that goes with being a professional educator. So, I’ve been reflecting on what it is I really want.

I’m a little closer to knowing what I want to do, the uneasiness and uncertainty of the decision is real. But, I did learn that I enjoy writing, reading, editing, and sharing with others. Now the real situation rears its head. How can I do what I love to do and earn the same or more than I’m earning now?

Sometimes I wonder if my thoughts are here because the end of the school year is stressful. In addition to the various tests that have to be administered, students understand the seriousness of the end of the school year. 

But, writing takes me to another world. At the same time, it is invigorating when others read my books and enjoy themselves while doing it. Therefore, I’m still in the realm of uncertainty. But, alhamdulillah (all praises due to Allah), I have a husband that is supportive. Therefore I can begin making moves because there’s nothing that says you can’t do both. 

 

Leave a Reply

